For the pre-celebration of its holiday, the Church of the Transfiguration of the Lord in the resort complex Borovets welcomes the Bulgarian Patriarch Daniil and the Metropolitan of Sofia for an evening service. The temple opened doors in April after a three-year closure. In July of this year, a major renovation was done. Transfiguration of the Lord Church in Borovets is the only wooden church in Bulgaria, built in 1933-1934. It was consecrated on September 23, 1934 by Exarch Stefan.
His Holiness Patriarch Daniil performed a water consecration at Lake Babreka - one of the seven Rila lakes. The consecration is a traditional part of the "Rila Miracle Worker" pilgrimage route, which began on August 1 from Sofia, as the final destination is the Rila Monastery.
The fighting for Sofia within the framework of the Russo-Turkish War (1877-1878) began on December 25, 1877. On January 3, 1878, the city's commandant Osman Nuri Pasha began to withdraw from Sofia. His plans to set the city on fire were thwarted..
In its latest digital section “Buildings Tell a Story”, the Regional History Museum – Sofia presents the stories of iconic buildings in the center of the Bulgarian capital city, as well as of the people who once lived in them. The video initiative..
T he Supreme Court of Cassation has given final judgement that the Bulgarian Orthodox Old Calendar Church must be registered in the register of religious denominations. This isthe first time a second Orthodox church will be registered, the..
Priest Lyubomir Bratoev is a direct participant in the events of t he founding of the Bulgarian Orthodox Church community in Berlin . He came to the..
+359 2 9336 661